How badly do you want to be a footballer?

Looking Forward, Looking Back

Junior Year officially began today, with BC undergraduate classes starting up.  I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been busy with finishing work, getting ready for school, and moving into my new off-campus house.  In case you’re wondering…it’s pretty sweet.  Eight bros with their own house:  eight bedrooms, two common rooms, two bathrooms, two kitchens, a good-sized balcony.

My Room

 

View from my bed

 

My Floor's Common Room

 

...Complete with one of our two giant TVs

The off-campus life so far has been great.  But in addition to living the college life, I’ve been focused on training.  The past two weeks or so have been very busy – I’ve only played soccer once or twice!  I’ve still been keeping in shape though, doing simple workouts to maintain my level of fitness.

So after this two-week hiatus, I consider where I stand in relation to my goal of playing football abroad.  I have four months left til I leave for London, putting me more or less at the halfway point of my training.  What good things have happened so far?

  • Better level of general fitness, particularly short bursts of speed within match stamina
  • Developed leg strength, particularly quads and calves
  • Much improved footwork, particularly with the left
  • Stronger, more accurate shot

And of course, with the positives come some negatives:

  • Need more work with left-footed, one-touch passing
  • Need more strength on left-footed crosses and shots
  • Need to continue work on upper body strength

Moving forward, there’s a lot of soccer in my immediate future.  The intramural season is right around the corner, and I can’t wait to get started.  It looks like we have a good team this season, and it will be a lot of fun.

More to come – stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

