How badly do you want to be a footballer?

End of July Update

With August starting up, the summer is coming to a close.  Work is slowing down, the days are getting shorter, and people are getting ready for the academic year to kickoff.  As I get closer to London, I’m starting to pick up my training.  I’ve begun going to the gym early in the morning before work three days a week and doing football drills in the afternoon.  I still play matches Tuesdays and Thursdays as well.

Status?  Things are coming along well.  For example, I netted a hat trick and an assist in last Thursdays 7v7 match.  We played on little nets, but I still managed to score two volley goals.  My other goal was a bit more special, finding the upper 90 on-the-fly from twenty yards out.

My left foot touch is progressing nicely, but I feel my weakest point is still shooting from the left.  It’s something I’ll be focusing on a lot this month.  One helpful exercise I’ve been doing for this uses this setup:

I dribble through the cones starting on the right hand side, and at the end, shoot with my right foot.  The two tackling dummies mark the middle zone of the net where I cannot put the ball (that makes me hit the corners, out of the imaginary keeper’s reach).  I then turn, run back through the cones this time starting on the left, and at the end shoot on another goal (not pictured, but on the other side) with my left foot.  Then repeat.

With the fall term comes the intramural soccer season.  We take it pretty seriously here.  For example, here’s the crest (photoshopped by yours truly) and uniform from my Freshman year team:

This year, three buddies and I were invited to join a new team (name TBD).  It should be a higher level of play than previous years, which I’m looking forward to.  I will keep you updated on these developments.

On a closing note, I’m pretending the Emirates Cup didn’t happen.  I know it’s just a preseason tuneup, but come on Arsenal…

Leave a Reply

