How badly do you want to be a footballer?

Traveling, Training, and Transfers

Hey all…for my American readers, I hope you had a good fourth.  For the rest of you, too bad you had work while we all grilled hamburgers and blew stuff up.  But I digress.

Despite the fact that this is the one week off I have all summer, I’ve been quite busy.  For Independence Day weekend, I visited with family in New Hampshire.  They have a nice beach house up there, and my family traditionally celebrates the fourth up there together.

I relaxed a little bit, but actually got a lot of work done on my laptop up there as well.

While I was up there I took my little cousin to a local pitch for a training session.  Unfortunately he got pretty tired out after only about 15 or 20 minutes, so we had to call it a day pretty early.  The rest of the weekend didn’t go so well for training either.  I ate a lot of junk and drank soda (in massive qualities) for the first time in ages.  I haven’t had a soda in months, though I suppose adult beverages make up for it.

Without a doubt, the best thing about being home is seeing my dog again.

Today, I drove back to BC to play soccer.  We played 9v9 full field in Alumni Stadium, and I left feeling pretty good.  I’d scored twice and gotten 3 assists as well.  Touch is coming along nicely…I can really start to see progress.  I’ll be hitting the gym/cardio pretty hard next week to work off my Independence Day fat+sugar binge.

In the world of the EPL, Arsenal have lost their first player to the transfer market.  Gael Clichy has left the Emirates.  Hopefully, this is not a sign of things to come from Nasri and Fabregas.  If, like me, you need some cheering up, consider this picture of a Red Panda (also known as a Firefox).  It is guaranteed to make you feel better.

Leave a Reply

